Parents - School Council


South Yarra Primary School Council

The South Yarra Primary School Council operates effectively using a committee structure. We meet on a monthly basis. In addition to the monthly School Council Meeting there are 3 Sub-Committees:

  • Education

  • Finance

  • Grounds and Buildings

    Each of these Committees consists of parents and teachers. Parents do not have to be a member of the School Council to be a member of one of these Committees. The Sub-Committees meet once a month prior to the School Council meeting so they can report on outcomes at that meeting.

    In addition South Yarra Primary School has a PFA that also reports to the School Council. The PFA perform a vitally important role of raising funds for the School. All members of the school community are encouraged to be involved with our school and wider community.


Our School Council members for 2017 are:


School Principal - Neven Paleka

Assistant Principal - Wendy Duff 

Leading Teacher - Matthew Ferguson 
School Council President - Jason Le Busque
Vice President -  Kate O'Loughlin


Buildings and Grounds Sub-committee Convenor - Ray Blythe
Secretary & PFA President  -  Sally Rogers
Education Sub-committee Convenor - Wendy Duff
Treasurer & Finance Sub-committee Convenor - Emily Mariani
School Council Members - Liz Nixon

                                              Sanh Duong


Teacher Representative - Matthew Ferguson